2000 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Michael Schumacher108
2Mika Häkkinen89
3David Coulthard73
4Rubens Barrichello62
5Ralf Schumacher24
6Giancarlo Fisichella18
7Jacques Villeneuve17
8Jenson Button12
9Heinz-Harald Frentzen11
10Jarno Trulli6
11Mika Salo6
12Jos Verstappen5
13Eddie Irvine4
14Ricardo Zonta3
15Alexander Wurz2
16Pedro de la Rosa2
17Johnny Herbert0
18Pedro Diniz0
19Marc Gene0
20Nick Heidfeld0
21Gaston Mazzacane0
22Jean Alesi0
23Luciano Burti0

Note: McLaren did not score constructors points for Mika Häkkinen in Austrian Grand Prix due to a missing seal.

2000 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Michael Schumacher won the 2000 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Mika Häkkinen was second and David Coulthard third. Ferrari won the championship for constructors.

11 constructors and 23 drivers participated in 17 races during the 51st season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points where awarded for top six finishers (10, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1). Half points awarded for races stopped before half distance.

2000 F1 season notes

  • Michael Schumacher became Ferrari's first driver champion for 21 years.
  • Jenson Button made his F1 race debut for Williams.
  • Kimi Räikkönen was test and reserve driver for Sauber Petronas.
  • Mark Webber was test and reserve driver for Arrows-Supertec.
  • Jean Alesi retired in 12 of the season's 17 races.
  • Only one driver change during the season.
  • Ferrari won 10 races of 17.
  • Ford bought the Stewart team and renamed it to Jaguar Racing.
  • The V10 engine configuration was made mandatory.
  • A fire marshal was killed at the Italian Grand Prix after beeing hit by a flying wheel.
  • United States Grand Prix was back on the calendar.