2001 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Michael Schumacher123
2David Coulthard65
3Rubens Barrichello56
4Ralf Schumacher49
5Mika Häkkinen37
6Juan Pablo Montoya31
7Jacques Villeneuve12
8Nick Heidfeld12
9Jarno Trulli12
10Kimi Räikkönen9
11Giancarlo Fisichella8
12Eddie Irvine6
13Heinz-Harald Frentzen6
14Oliver Panis5
15Jean Alesi5
16Pedro de la Rosa6
17Jenson Button2
18Jos Verstappen1
19Ricardo Zonta0
20Luciano Burti0
21Enrique Bernoldi0
22Tarso Marques0
23Fernando Alonso0
24Tomas Enge0
25Gaston Mazzacane0
26Alex Young0

2001 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Michael Schumacher won the 2001 Formula One World Championship for drivers. David Coulthard was second and Rubens Barrichello third. Ferrari won the championship for constructors.

11 constructors and 26 drivers participated in 17 races during the 52nd season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points where awarded for top six finishers (10, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1).

2001 F1 season notes

  • Fernando Alonso, Kimi Räikkönen and Juan Pablo Montoya made their F1 race debut.
  • Jenson Button moved to the Benetton team.
  • Michael Schumacher won his fourth Championship.
  • Jean Alesi became the fifth driver to start 200 Grand Prix races.
  • Michael and Ralf Schumacher where the first brothers to finish 1st and 2nd.
  • Prost driver Luciano Burti hit a tyre barrier at 290 km/h in the the Belgian Grand Prix.
  • Ferrari won 9 races of 17.
  • The BAR team got their first ever podium finish.
  • Minardi was the only team to score zero points.
  • Prost used 8 drivers (including test drivers) during the season.
  • Traction control was allowed again.
  • Michelin returned as a tyre supplier.
  • A marshal was killed in Australia after an accident involving Jacques Villeneuve and Ralf Schumacher.
  • Popular commentator Murray Walker retired from F1 after this season.