2004 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Michael Schumacher148
2Rubens Barrichello114
3Jenson Button85
4Fernando Alonso59
5Juan Pablo Montoya58
6Jarno Trulli46
7Kimi Räikkönen45
8Takuma Sato34
9Ralf Schumacher24
10David Coulthard24
11Giancarlo Fisichella22
12Felipe Massa12
13Mark Webber7
14Oliver Panis6
15Antonio Pizzonia6
16Christian Klien3
17Cristiano da Matta3
18Nick Heidfeld3
19Timo Glock2
20Zsolt Baumgartner1
21Jacques Villeneuve0
22Ricardo Zonta0
23Marc Gene0
24Giorgio Pantano0
25Gianmaria Bruni0

2004 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Michael Schumacher won the 2004 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Rubens Barichello was second and Jenson Button third. Ferrari won the championship for constructors.

10 constructors and 25 drivers participated in 18 races during the 55th season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points for top eight finishers (10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1).

2004 F1 season notes

  • Michael Schumacher set the fastest lap in 10 of the 18 races.
  • Timo Glock made his F1 race debut in the Canadian Grand Prix.
  • Björn Wirdheim was signed by Jaguar as a test driver.
  • Ferrari won 15 races of 18.
  • The Jaguar team was bought by Red Bull at the end of the season.
  • All teams managed to score at least one point.
  • Engine change during a race weekend results in a 10-place grid penalty.
  • Fully automated transmission is not allowed.
  • Minimum car weight during race is 600 kg.
  • Pit lane speed is limited to 100 km/h.
  • Bahrain and Chinese Grands Prix are new on the calendar.