2005 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Fernando Alonso133
2Kimi Räikkönen112
3Michael Schumacher62
4Juan Pablo Montoya60
5Giancarlo Fisichella58
6Ralf Schumacher45
7Jarno Trulli43
8Rubens Barrichello38
9Jenson Button37
10Mark Webber36
11Nick Heidfeld28
12David Coulthard24
13Felipe Massa11
14Jacques Villeneuve9
15Christian Klien9
16Tiago Monteiro7
17Alexander Wurz6
18Narain Karthikeyan5
19Christijan Albers4
20Pedro de la Rosa4
21Patrick Friesacher3
22Antonio Pizzonia2
23Takuma Sato1
24Vitantonio Liuzzi1
25Robert Doornbos0
26Ricardo Zonta0
27Anthony Davidson0
7Red Bull34

2005 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Fernando Alonso won the 2005 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Kimi Räikkönen was second and Michael Schumacher third. Renault won the championship for constructors.

10 constructors and 27 drivers participated in 19 races during the 56th season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points for top eight finishers (10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1).

2005 F1 season notes

  • Fernando Alonso was the youngest F1 world champion at the age of 24.
  • Giancarlo Fisichella won the season opener in Australia.
  • Narain Karthikeyan made his F1 race debut in the Australian Grand Prix.
  • First constructors championship title for Renault.
  • BAR, Minardi and Jordan teams were taken over by new owners after the season.
  • Engines are required to last two race weekends.
  • Final year for the 3-litre V10 engine formula.
  • Rear diffuser size is reduced to restrict downforce.
  • Drivers on Michelin tyres were not allowed to participate in the United States GP for safety reasons.
  • The track temperature was 51 degrees Celsius at the beginning of the Malaysian Grand Prix.
  • The Turkish Grand Prix was new on the calendar.