2006 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Fernando Alonso134
2Michael Schumacher121
3Felipe Massa80
4Giancarlo Fisichella72
5Kimi Räikkönen65
6Jenson Button56
7Rubens Barrichello30
8Juan Pablo Montoya26
9Nick Heidfeld23
10Ralf Schumacher20
11Pedro de la Rosa19
12Jarno Trulli15
13David Coulthard14
14Mark Webber7
15Jacques Villeneuve7
16Robert Kubica6
17Nico Rosberg4
18Christian Klien2
19Vitantonio Liuzzi1
20Scott Speed0
21Tiago Monteiro0
22Christijan Albers0
23Takuma Sato0
24Robert Doornbos0
25Yuji Ide0
26Sakon Yamamoto0
27Franck Montagny0
7Red Bull16
9Toro Rosso1
11Super Aguri0

2006 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Fernando Alonso won the 2006 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Michael Schumacher was second and Felipe Massa third. Renault won the championship for constructors.

11 constructors and 27 drivers participated in 18 races during the 57th season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points for top eight finishers (10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1).

2006 F1 season notes

  • Felipe Massa took his first F1 win.
  • Nico Rosberg made his F1 race debut in the Bahrain Grand Prix.
  • Fernando Alonso became the youngest double world champion.
  • Jenson Button took his first F1 win.
  • Mark Webber retired in 11 of 18 races.
  • Minardi were renamed to Scuderia Toro Rosso.
  • Super Aguri F1, a Japanese team, was introduced.
  • No British constructor won any race.
  • Engine is limited to 2400 cc capacity and eight cylinders.
  • Maximum 14 sets of tyres for the whole race weekend.
  • Tyre changing permitted again in race.
  • Last year with two tyre manufactures.