2010 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Sebastian Vettel256
2Fernando Alonso252
3Mark Webber242
4Lewis Hamilton240
5Jenson Button214
6Felipe Massa144
7Nico Rosberg142
8Robert Kubica136
9Michael Schumacher72
10Rubens Barrichello47
11Adrian Sutil47
12Kamui Kobayashi32
13Vitaly Petrov27
14Nico Hulkenberg22
15Vitantonio Liuzzi21
16Sebastien Buemi8
17Pedro de la Rosa6
18Nick Heidfeld6
19Jaime Alguersuari5
20Heikki Kovalainen0
21Jarno Trulli0
22Karun Chandok0
23Bruno Senna0
24Lucas di Grassi0
25Timo Glock0
26Sakon Yamamoto0
27Christian Klien0
1Red Bull498
7Force India68
8BMW Sauber44
9Toro Rosso13

2010 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Sebastian Vettel won the 2010 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Fernando Alonso was second and Mark Webber third. Red Bull won the championship for constructors.

12 constructors and 27 drivers participated in 19 races during the 61st season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. New points system introduced - points for top ten classified finishers (25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1).

2010 F1 season notes

  • Sebastian Vettel was the youngest F1 world champion at the age of 23.
  • Michael Schumacher returned to Formula One as a driver for the Mercedes GP team.
  • Nico Hulkenberg, Bruno Senna and Vitaly Petrov made their F1 race debut at the Bahrain Grand Prix.
  • Nico Rosberg outperformed his teammate Michael Schumacher in most races.
  • Four new teams: Mercedes, Lotus, HRT and Virgin.
  • Mercedes-Benz bought Brawn GP and renamed the team to Mercedes GP.
  • KERS (kinetic energy recovery system) are not allowed.
  • Engine rev limit of 18,000 rpm.
  • Refueling during race is not allowed.
  • Maximum 11 sets of tyres for the whole race weekend.
  • Backmarkers no longer allowed to unlap themselves behind the safety car.
  • Mercedes Benz SLS AMG was introduced as the safety car.