2009 Formula 1 drivers and constructors world championships final standings

1Jenson Button95
2Sebastian Vettel84
3Rubens Barrichello77
4Mark Webber69.5
5Lewis Hamilton49
6Kimi Räikkönen48
7Nico Rosberg34.5
8Jarno Trulli32.5
9Fernando Alonso26
10Timo Glock24
11Felipe Massa22
12Heikki Kovalainen22
13Nick Heidfeld19
14Robert kubica17
15Giancarlo Fisichella8
16Sebastien Buemi6
17Adrian Sutil5
18Kamui Kobayashi3
19Sebastien Bourdais2
20Kazuki Nakajima0
21Nelsinho Piquet0
22Vitantonio Liuzzi0
23Romain Grosjean0
24Jaime Alguersuari0
25Luca Badoer0
2Red Bull153.5
6BMW Sauber36
9Force India13
10Toro Rosso8

Half points were awarded at the Malaysian Grand Prix as less than 75 % of the race distance was completed.

2009 Formula 1 season facts and figures

Jenson Button won the 2009 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Sebastian Vettel was second and Rubens Barichello third. Brawn won the championship for constructors.

10 constructors and 25 drivers participated in 17 races during the 60th season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip. Points for top eight finishers (10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1).

2009 F1 season notes

  • Mark Webber took his first F1 win.
  • Lewis Hamilton was disqualified from the Australian Grand Prix for lying to the stewards.
  • Romain Grosjean made his F1 race debut in the European Grand Prix.
  • Kamui Kobayashi made his F1 race debut in the Brazilian Grand Prix.
  • Ross Brawn bought the Honda team and renamed it to Brawn GP.
  • Toyota withdraws from Formula One at the end of the season.
  • Brawn GP was the first team to win the constructors championship in their debut season.
  • Force India got their first F1 world championship points and podium place.
  • BMW Sauber announced their withdrawal from F1 racing during the summer break.
  • Introduction of KERS, kinetic energy recovery system.
  • Driver adjustable bodywork was allowed for the first time.
  • Maximum eight engines for the whole season.
  • Slick tyres are allowed again.
  • The engines were detuned from 19,000 rpm to 18,000 rpm.
  • Nurburgring hosted the German Grand Prix.
  • The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, starting at sunset, was F1's first day-night race.